01 / 6
Identify this exact bag
The current Peet's US Off the Grid page names Colombia and El Salvador, washed processing and a bright-medium roast. A 2024 press release explains the launch blend, but the live product record is more relevant for the current bag; even named countries do not fix farms, harvests, varieties or proportions. This is the whole-bean product, not the separate grocery ground bag or a finished café drink. [1] [2]
Peet's includes Off the Grid in its cold-brew collection and its product method panel lists cold brew beside pour-over. That gives it a real method claim but no controlled Coffeedant cup result. Confirm the grind selection remains Whole Bean and the chosen pack is available before interpreting any checkout display. [1]
02 / 6
What the flavor evidence can say
Milk chocolate, almond butter and pear are Peet's descriptors. The Brew Adventures describes its own hot and cold samples; the writer's extraction and bag age are not stated to match a 2026 order. Owner discussions about Peet's as a brand are even broader, so they are used only as context for checking dates, not as proof of Off the Grid's reliability or taste. [1] [3] [4]
The blend sounds more chocolate-centered than Baridi's citrus-and-blackberry brief, though both advertise fruit. Those are editorial comparisons of published targets, not a side-by-side tasting. If pear sounds too subtle to justify a purchase, start with one bag and compare it against the existing Big Bang review under the same cold-brew dilution.
03 / 6
Brew it for its intended role
Peet's says Off the Grid can be cold-brewed and lists a 12-plus-hour method; it separately recommends pour-over. The hot pour-over duration is not a cold-brew time, and a flash-chilled hot coffee uses another method altogether. Use coarse grounds and a tested vessel-specific immersion start, then filter and refrigerate. [1] [2]
For a fair home comparison, hold the coffee-to-water ratio, steep conditions and serving dilution steady against Big Bang. Change one variable when the actual cup is too light or heavy. Avoid converting Peet's roast and brightness indicators into an invented caffeine or acidity measurement.
04 / 6
Roast date and storage
Buy the whole-bean format and inspect the printed roast date. A 10.5 oz grocery ground pack shown by retailers is not the same purchase as the roaster's online whole-bean selector. After opening, seal the beans away from heat and odors and grind only the amount planned for the next batch. [5]
A concentrated cold-brew recipe can consume a bag quickly, but the correct bulk size depends on your ratio and how long finished coffee sits refrigerated. Date the batch and follow the brewer or roaster's safe-storage guidance rather than using a packet photo as a freshness guarantee.
05 / 6
Value at this US check
We did not verify a final one-time delivered US whole-bean price across shipping and tax, so no price or discount is quoted. Check the selected format, stock, order cadence and basket total on Peet's official page. Do not use a similarly named third-party storefront as an official Peet's offer. [1]
Off the Grid's value proposition is a washed two-country blend with a distinct chilled and hot-filter role. If the household only drinks espresso, Verve Sermon's espresso-first brief is a more direct trial; if it wants an overtly berry cold brew, Baridi or Three Africas may be more relevant when available.
06 / 6
Choose another bag for another task
Peet's Big Bang has a medium, fruit-tart and milk-chocolate direction with direct cold-brew guidance, while Off the Grid is washed Colombia/El Salvador with pear and almond-butter descriptors. Shared cold-brew eligibility does not make the blends interchangeable. [1] [7]
Sun Catcher is Peet's brighter Brazil-and-Kenya blend with pour-over priority and cold brew as an alternative. Off the Grid has the more chocolate-led profile and direct washed-origin record. Choose from the desired cup, not an unverified ranking of roast darkness or value.
Evidence and limits
How this review was made
This is a research-led US assessment of the exact named whole-bean product. Current roaster pages control identity and attributed flavor targets. Independent accounts and selected owners are limited by lot, date, preparation and possible commercial interest. Coffeedant has not bought, brewed, tasted, measured or photographed this coffee and assigns no numeric sensory score.
Sources were checked October 22, 2026. Verify the actual pack, roast date, component panel, current stock and checkout total before ordering. Product photography illustrates identity and does not certify the shipment.
Quick answers
Off the Grid FAQ
What is Peet's Coffee Off the Grid?
The current Peet's US Off the Grid page names Colombia and El Salvador, washed processing and a bright-medium roast. A 2024 press release explains the launch blend, but the live product record is more relevant for the current bag; even named countries do not fix farms, harvests, varieties or proportions. This is the whole-bean product, not the separate grocery ground bag or a finished café drink.
What does Off the Grid taste like?
Peet's Coffee lists milk chocolate, almond butter and pear, as described by Peet's. Coffeedant has not tasted this bag.
Which brew method fits Off the Grid?
Peet's says Off the Grid can be cold-brewed and lists a 12-plus-hour method; it separately recommends pour-over. The hot pour-over duration is not a cold-brew time, and a flash-chilled hot coffee uses another method altogether. Use coarse grounds and a tested vessel-specific immersion start, then filter and refrigerate.
Are the origin and variety fixed?
Colombia and El Salvador on the current product page Not specified for the complete blend Check the delivered pack for current lot details.
What package is pictured?
Peet's Coffee US product photograph; current packaging illustration, not a roast-date or price receipt.
Is a displayed price guaranteed?
No. Confirm the exact whole-bean size, order mode, stock, shipping and tax in the live US cart.
How should I store it?
Check the roast date, seal opened whole beans away from air and heat, and grind shortly before brewing.
Trace the claims
Sources
- Peet's Coffee US: Off the Grid
Current exact product identity, roaster descriptions, formats and availability; checked October 22, 2026. Checked 2026-10-22.
- Peet's cold-brew bean collection
Current inclusion of Off the Grid among cold-brew bean options. Checked 2026-10-22.
- The Brew Adventures: Off the Grid sample
Independent hot and cold brew impressions from one bag; not a current controlled comparison. Checked 2026-10-22.
- r/Coffee: Peet’s buying and date context
Older brand-level owner context only; not evidence of this exact 2026 blend. Checked 2026-10-22.
- Stumptown whole-bean storage guidance
Independent roaster storage context; not proof of this delivered bag. Checked 2026-10-22.
- Coffeedant bean category
Exact canonical alternatives and existing reviews. Checked 2026-10-22.
- Coffeedant: Peet’s Big Bang
Distinct research-led alternative review. Checked 2026-10-22.
- Product image source
Peet's Coffee US product photograph; current packaging illustration, not a roast-date or price receipt. Checked 2026-10-22.
The choice
Buy Off the Grid for its documented brew role
Off the Grid earns a separate look from Peet's dark classics: the current page identifies Colombia and El Salvador, washed processing, a bright-medium roast and a cold-brew option alongside pour-over. Its milk-chocolate, almond-butter and pear notes are a roaster target. Buyers wanting to make a clean, fruit-leaning chilled cup should still check the selected whole-bean format and live stock before ordering. Start with one whole-bean bag where available and let a repeatable personal brew decide any larger order.
Check Off the Grid at the roaster