01 / 6
Identify this exact bag
The reviewed item is Blue Bottle’s current US Night Light Decaf whole-bean product. Its card labels the roast medium while descriptive text calls it one of the roaster’s darker coffees. We preserve both signals rather than silently choosing a darkness score. The current US page says it is organic and water-decaffeinated, but does not identify every origin, variety or a named proprietary water process. [1]
The displayed official photo is the Korean 250 g pack, clearly identified as regional illustration. It is not evidence of the US pack size, roast date or exact label. The US buyer should confirm those details on the selected product and delivered bag. [1]
02 / 6
What flavor evidence can and cannot say
Crème brûlée, vanilla and key lime are Blue Bottle’s tasting notes. Its prose also describes creaminess and malty sweetness. Coffeedant has not tasted this or measured whether a particular bag delivers those cues. A 2026 independent Japanese tasting describes a local 200 g sample; regional packaging and lot differences limit transfer to a US purchase. [1] [3]
A verified buyer on the US site says it worked for a latte, but that is one self-selected drink. For someone who dislikes citrus in decaf, key lime on the label is a reason to start with one bag, not a promise of strong acidity. [4]
03 / 6
Brew it for its intended role
Blue Bottle explicitly says Night Light can move from espresso to French press and recommends a heavier dose for its sweet, round direction. It does not specify one exact product-specific press or espresso ratio on that panel. Use the coarse-grind press method for immersion and a separate basket-specific espresso recipe; do not carry one grinder setting between devices. [1] [2]
For a mixed regular-and-decaf household, grinder retention matters. Purge according to the grinder manual when caffeine separation is important. Decaf is reduced caffeine, not proof of zero caffeine; this review makes no clinical claim about sleep or tolerance.
04 / 6
Roast date and storage
Check the delivered roast date. Water processing and roast development do not remove the need to seal whole beans and protect them from heat and moisture. A regional photograph cannot tell you how long a US order spent in storage. [5] [6]
Try a smaller whole-bean pack before committing to a larger recurring order. If decaf is only an occasional evening drink, a large open bag may outlast your preferred flavor window; compare consumption rate and shipping schedule.
05 / 6
Value at this US check
The current US site mixes subscription and one-time prices, so this review does not state a verified delivered pack price or discount. Confirm exact size, availability, shipping, tax and order cadence in the live US cart. [1]
Night Light’s case is its explicit espresso-to-French-press range and water-process declaration. If the decaf household only drinks espresso, compare Stumptown Trapper Creek or Intelligentsia Decaf Black Cat for more targeted brew evidence.
06 / 6
Choose another bag for another task
Stumptown Trapper Creek is another existing decaf review with an explicit espresso starting dose. Night Light is different because Blue Bottle directly invites both espresso and French press and describes a heavier dose rather than one exact extraction number. [1] [7]
Counter Culture Slow Motion offers a different roaster flavor and process record. Neither should be ranked by an invented caffeine or sensory score; compare the delivered bag and your chosen device.
Evidence and limits
How this review was made
This is a research-led US assessment of the exact named whole-bean coffee. The current US roaster page controls identity, while older independent samples and self-selected owners are limited by bag, region, date and preparation. Coffeedant has not bought, brewed, tasted, measured or photographed this coffee and assigns no numeric sensory score.
Sources were checked October 21, 2026. Verify the selected pack, delivered roast date, current component panel and checkout total before buying again. Regional packaging images are explicitly identified where used.
Quick answers
Night Light Decaf FAQ
What is Blue Bottle Night Light Decaf?
The reviewed item is Blue Bottle’s current US Night Light Decaf whole-bean product. Its card labels the roast medium while descriptive text calls it one of the roaster’s darker coffees. We preserve both signals rather than silently choosing a darkness score. The current US page says it is organic and water-decaffeinated, but does not identify every origin, variety or a named proprietary water process.
What does Night Light Decaf taste like?
Blue Bottle lists crème brûlée, vanilla, key lime. These are roaster descriptors; Coffeedant has not tasted the bag.
How should I brew Night Light Decaf?
Blue Bottle explicitly says Night Light can move from espresso to French press and recommends a heavier dose for its sweet, round direction. It does not specify one exact product-specific press or espresso ratio on that panel. Use the coarse-grind press method for immersion and a separate basket-specific espresso recipe; do not carry one grinder setting between devices.
Are the origins and varieties fixed?
Current US product page does not name a complete farm or country composition Not specified for the complete blend Check the delivered bag for any current component panel.
What package is pictured?
Blue Bottle Coffee Korea product image. Its 250 g pack is illustrative; verify the separate US package and size.
Is the listed price guaranteed?
No one-time delivered US pack price was verified at this check. Confirm size, order mode, tax and shipping in the live cart.
How should I keep the beans?
Check the roast date, seal opened whole beans away from air and heat, and grind shortly before brewing.
Trace the claims
Sources
- Blue Bottle US: Night Light Decaf
Current product identity, roast label, roaster notes, stated brew role and selector limitations. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Blue Bottle French press guide
Coarse-grind immersion guidance; separate from the product’s espresso positioning. Checked 2026-10-21.
- iAnswer: 2026 Night Light Decaf sample
Independent Japanese 200 g sample; region, lot and preparation differ from this US review. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Blue Bottle current Night Light verified-buyer context
One self-selected buyer reports latte use; not a population result. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Blue Bottle: on freshness
Roaster context for roast timing, not proof of a particular delivered bag. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Stumptown: opened-bean storage
Independent roaster storage context; not specific to Blue Bottle. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Coffeedant: Stumptown Trapper Creek Decaf
Distinct research-led alternative review. Checked 2026-10-21.
- Product image source
Blue Bottle Coffee Korea product image. Its 250 g pack is illustrative; verify the separate US package and size. Checked 2026-10-21.
The choice
Buy Night Light Decaf for its documented brew role
Night Light Decaf is a useful one-bag trial for a US household moving between decaf espresso and French press. Blue Bottle says it uses a water decaffeination process and positions the coffee for both black and milk drinks. The US page’s medium label and darker flavor description should be read together; neither establishes a Coffeedant tasting or residual-caffeine measurement. Start with one whole-bean bag, check the delivered roast date, and let a repeatable personal brew decide any larger order.
Check Night Light Decaf at the roaster